Picture
"Come to me.... STOP!" at Bethel Church on Sunday!
Hello family and friends!

We have been very busy here in Thailand. We have been able to travel outside of Chachoengsao a bit this past week. Lots of things have happen, so I will try my best to update you.

Last Saturday we headed to Chon Buri for the day to visit Ricky and Karen Sanchez. Ricky was able to give us a great tour of the beautiful town of Chon Buri and Karen (& the kids at the orphanage) gave us a very detailed tour of the orphanage that they are building. They are currently building 4 (beautiful) buildings to become a home to orphans that have been tested HIV positive. It's an incredible building project and it was a great experience to interact with the kids! While in Chon Buri we were also able to attend Ang Sila for their worship service. Cara had an opportunity to share her testimony with the congregation and allow her life story to potentially influence some of the members' own relationship with God! What an amazing opportunity and she did wonderful!

On Sunday, we taught the children Luke 18:16.. "Let the children come to me." God wants us to come to Him like children. As we were playing "Red light, Green light" (our version: "Come to me, Stop"), the kids non-hesitantly would walk or run towards me. Keep in mind that that they don't know me that well, we don't speak the same language and I'm a Furong (foreigner). I found myself wondering to myself "How can they do this?!" I ultimately want to imitate that non-hesitant run in my own relationship with Jesus on a day-to-day basis.

After Sunday school we headed off for our midterm retreat in Rayong. It was a beautiful place, and because it was "off-season" we literally had the beach to ourselves! The retreat was filled with lots of bonding and great conversations. God is so gracious and we thank Him so much for giving us that time to spend together as a team!

This week we have been busy painting at the Bermese church (light green... my favourite) and teaching our last English lessons. Last night we had to say good bye to some kids at the park that we have been at for the past 4 weeks. The good bye was definitely bitter sweet. I don't think I'll forget the 10 kids that stood in a clump waving furiously as we drove off. The kids, the park, the massive amounts of sweat, the hello's, the good-byes, the love and the smiles will never be forgotten. Thank you God!

Anyways, this post definitely does not give our week justice. Please make sure to ask us about our experiences when we get home, since we will be home in about a week and a half!

Miss you,
Bethany


Picture
Golf, Cara, Leo, Ohm, Nothe & Bethany. We make a good team!
Herman
6/1/2011 10:35:41 pm

Great post. Very informative. We are continuing to pray and may God bless you all in these last several days in Thailand.

Reply
Krista
6/2/2011 03:18:36 am

Thanks for giving us a glimpse of what you have been doing the past couple weeks. I love the idea of you "come to me" game. It is good encouragement for us all to come to God without hesitation. Looking forward to seeing you soon. We miss you.

Reply



Leave a Reply.